Following Your Passion: A [not so] Practical “How To”

“Do what you love and the rest will follow”

Ever heard that one before? Sounds pretty lovely, doesn’t it?

Well, the truth is, there’s nothing in this world that’s more lovely than living a life that you created for yourself. Being able to wake up every day and work away at the things you’re passionate about is nothing short of incredible. As I write this, it’s 9:05pm. I’ve been up since 7:30am, and I’ve had 2 breaks today. One was for lunch, which got partially over taken by a meeting; the other was for dinner, if that’s what you call eating a wrap as you wait for your oil change to be completed in the only hour you have off between meetings, more meetings, and phone calls. Lots of phone calls. As I write this, there are several other things which I could be doing (including sleeping) and there are exactly zero things that I would rather be doing. Especially sleeping. I really hate sleeping.

Being in a position where I’m able to honestly say that there is nothing I’d rather be doing with most of my days is something I consider to be one of my greatest possible blessings. All positive thinking and psychology aside, I simply love what I do. That is a truly incredible feeling, and one that I am constantly chasing more of.

The other side to that truth, unfortunately, is that getting here has been incredibly challenging. Staying here, even more so. Even more unfortunate is that the challenge to get here is so great, most people will quit before they get here. Most people will give up or settle for doing something that they simply don’t hate.

The toughest challenge by far is that everyone will tell you that you’re either crazy, stupid, wrong, making a big mistake, or destined for failure. You can expect to hear at least one of these opinions from everyone ranging from your business professor (talk about irony) to your friends, to your very own mother (her only crime is loving you so darn much, give her a break).

Next on the menu is the breakdowns. If you’re lucky they’ll be few and far between, but regardless they happen to the best of us. I’m talking about the moments when you reconsider your entire life and everything that has lead you to this moment. The times when absolutely nothing has gone your way and you’re totally convinced that the entire universe is conspiring against you in an effort to kill every chance you’ve ever had at following your dreams. You know, you just don’t get that when you’re playing it safe at your 9 to 5.

The list of challenges goes on. I’m sure you’re starting to get the point. So without further ado, here is my [not so] practical guide to following your passion:

Just do it.

I mean, seriously, did you really expect me to have some magical answer for you? If I did you could bet your ass I’d be monetizing on it. The truth is that it’s really just that simple. The only reason you’re looking for the magical answer is because you don’t want to get out there and just follow your passion. My personal favourite excuse for a long time was “I don’t even know what my passion is yet!” Well here’s a tip, it’s not what you’re doing right now, so how about switching it up?

At the end of the day, following your passion is a long shot. I’m just one person telling you that it’s not a bad plan. There will be hundreds of other people who will disagree with me.

 

Here’s what I want you to ask yourself though:

  1. “Would I ever hate myself for chasing after my dreams and failing? Would I one day regret going all in following my passion if it didn’t work out?”
  2. “Would I ever hate myself for not having chased after my dreams? Would I end up having regrets?”

If you’re like most people, asking yourself these two simple questions will leave you with one very important choice to make:

a. The pain of failure

b. The sufferance of regret

Personally, I choose failure every time. Failure is something you can learn from. Failure is temporary. Regret is something that will eat away at you until the day that you die. You can ignore regret, but it will always be there.

Most people will give up on their passions and settle for a life that they “don’t hate”.

That statement right there is the one that I’m on a mission to transform. I believe in the possibility of you living a created life; one that you are truly passionate about living. All that’s left is for you to make it happen.

 

Ready, set, action.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

